Dilys Breese Medal

01 Oct 2013 | No. 2013-44

John Ingham was presented with the Dilys Breese Medal by Baroness Barbara Young, the BTO’s President, yesterday evening (30 October).

John Ingham has done a huge amount
to support the work of the BTO

Through his column in the Daily Express, John Ingham has done a huge amount to support the work of the BTO, but particularly in the last year.  By taking an interest in items such as the Blackcap and Winter Thrushes Surveys, he attracts the attention not only of his large readership but also of his fellow writers.  This Award recognises John’s attention to detail, his collaborative approach to writing and the spikes we see on the BTO’s website whenever he mentions our work.

BTO Director, Dr Andy Clements said:  "BTO really appreciates the way that John Ingham shares the results of BTO research with Daily Express readers.  People are fascinated by birds and John helps us reach out to the public about declining species, such as Lapwings, and to celebrate the successes of our research, as we have seen with Cuckoo-tracking."

John Ingham, the Daily Express’ Environment Editor, said:  “I am honoured to receive this prestigious award. I am lucky to be able to write about a lifelong passion – birds - and this is made easier by the BTO’s extensive research.  I also know from my postbag that a large number of Daily Express readers share my interest and want to know more about nature and birds in particular. Like me, they want to find out about how birds live, the threats they face and how they can help them.”

Dilys Breese, a former Vice President and Honorary Secretary of the BTO, was not only a renowned radio and television producer, she also did much to promote the science of ornithology to broader audiences, particularly through the work she did for the BTO. In recognition of this service, a medal is awarded on an annual basis to outstanding communicators who deliver BTO science to new audiences.

Previous winners of the Dilys Breese Medal are:

• Fiona Barclay (2009) • Ray Collier (2009) • Stephen Moss (2009) • Tony Soper (2009)
• Brett Westwood (2009) • Stuart Winter (2009) • Chris Packham (2010) • Michael McCarthy (2011) • Sheena Harvey (2012)

Notes for Editors

  1. The award was one of five made at the SWLA’s Natural Eye annual exhibition at the Mall Galleries in London.  The BTO is very grateful to the Society of Wildlife Artists and the Mall Galleries for providing this opportunity to present these awards and to highlight the success of the last year.  For more information please visit http://www.bto.org/news-events/news/2013-10/dilys-breese-marsh-awards
  2. The BTO is the UK's leading bird research charity. A growing membership and up to 60,000 volunteer birdwatchers contribute to the BTO's surveys, collecting information that underpins conservation action in the UK. The BTO maintains a staff of 100 at its offices in Thetford, Stirling, Bangor (Wales) and Bangor (Northern Ireland), who analyse and publicise the results of surveys and projects. The BTO's work is funded by BTO supporters, government, trusts, industry and conservation organisations. www.bto.org

Contact Details

Paul Stancliffe
(BTO Media Manager)

Office: 01842 750050
(9am to 5.30pm)
Mobile: 07585 440910 (anytime)
Email: press [at] bto.org

Images are available for use alongside this News Release.
Please contact images [at] bto.org quoting reference 2013-44

The BTO has an ISDN line available for radio interviews.
Please contact us to book an interview
Office: 01842 750050

Related content