Finance & Risk Committee (F&R)

The Finance & Risk Committee are responsible for financial controls, plans and reports, and risk management.  The Chairman of F&R sits on the Board and is supported by three Board members, including the Honorary Treasurer. It meets four times a year, normally quarterly. Urgent business may be transacted by email or teleconference.

Chair - Jean Spencer

Jean is an executive director of Anglian Water, with a current focus on strategic growth and resilience. Jean has worked for water companies for almost thirty years - the last thirteen as Regulation Director. Jean is a Chartered Accountant by background.

Dr Stephen Hunter

Stephen has been a BTO member and bird ringer for 45 years. A Zoology degree and Antarctic seabird research was followed by a Civil Service career with MAFF/Defra.  He served on BTO Council for nine years, including four as Chairman.  Now retired, Stephen spends time ringing in his North Yorkshire orchard and doing local surveys.

Ian Packer

Ian is a chartered accountant, company director and keen birder. He has commercial, financial and managerial experience gained from careers in practice and industry across many sectors, including audit, corporate finance, investment banking and manufacturing. A former voluntary finance director of the journal ‘British Birds’ and present BTO Benefactor, Ian has been a BTO member for over forty years. Birds have been a lifelong passion and he enjoys travelling to see birds in new environments.

Dr Debby Reynolds

Debby has a strong record on effective governance to help organisations deliver successfully on their vision and strategy. She has been a member of BTO for 20 years and is an enthusiastic world birder. As Chief Veterinary Officer and DG Animal Health at Defra, Debby was the Government’s media spokesperson on veterinary issues and primary adviser to the Prime Minister on avian influenza, for which she was awarded the CB.

Related content