Training Programme

We run a wide range of courses each year around the country in a variety of venues and habitats. Most courses are run in the early spring when many birds are at their most obvious and when survey work is most commonly started. 

Below are the confirmed dates for 2018 and we will be adding more as details are confirmed for other courses. If you cannot see a course date, venue or topic to suit you, please come back later, or contact us at BTO to discuss your training needs. We will be offering a range of bird survey techniques and bird identification courses, training for professionals as well as bird ringing and other survey-specific courses such as Nest Recording and WeBS. We are also able to offer bespoke training (please contact our Training Manager – training [at] bto.org to discuss this further).

Multi-day Courses

Bird Identification, Wetland Bird Survey
Curlew by Jill Pakenham RSPB Bowling Green and Goosemoor Exeter
Mon 07th Jan 2019 to Tue 08th Jan 2019
Improve your winter bird ID skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey on this 2-day course.
Led by Matt Collis.
Gadwall by Paul Hillion WWT Steart Marshes Bridgwater
Wed 09th Jan 2019 to Thu 10th Jan 2019
Improve your winter bird ID skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey on this 2-day course.
Led by Matt Collis.
Bittern by Jill Pakenham Thatcham Reedbeds Thatcham
Tue 15th Jan 2019 to Wed 16th Jan 2019
Improve your winter bird ID skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey on this 2-day course.
Led by Matt Collis.
Goldeneye by John Proudlock Farmoor Reservoir Oxford
Thu 17th Jan 2019 to Fri 18th Jan 2019
Improve your winter bird ID skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey on this 2-day course.
Led by Matt Collis.
Dunlin by Chris Mills norfolkbirding.com RSPB Arne & Stoborough Heath Wareham
Mon 21st Jan 2019 to Tue 22nd Jan 2019
Improve your winter bird ID skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey on this 2-day course.
Led by Matt Collis.
Snipe by Liz Cutting RSPB Pulborough Brooks Pulborough
Wed 23rd Jan 2019 to Thu 24th Jan 2019
Improve your winter bird ID skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey on this 2-day course.
Led by Matt Collis.
Wigeon by John Harding Flatford Mill Colchester
Fri 25th Jan 2019 to Sun 27th Jan 2019
Improve your winter bird ID skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey on this weekend course.
Led by Steve Piotrowski.
Bird Surveying for Professionals
British Trust for Ornithology Thetford
Tue 19th Feb 2019 to Wed 20th Feb 2019
Bespoke training, tailored to the needs of the ecological / environmental professional
Led by Nick Moran and David Jarrett.
Bird Identification, BirdTrack
Wheatear by Paul Hillion Portland Bird Observatory Portland
Fri 19th Apr 2019 to Sun 21st Apr 2019
Gain confidence identifying birds by sight and sound, with plenty of opportunities to put what you have learned into practice.
Led by Steve Piotrowski.
Ruff. Photograph by Ed Drewitt Castle Head Field Centre Grange over Sands
Sat 10th Aug 2019 to Mon 12th Aug 2019
Gain confidence identifying birds by sight and sound, with plenty of opportunities to put what you have learned into practice.
Led by Steve Piotrowski.
Coal Tit by Sarah Kelman Rhyd Y Creuau Betws-y-Coed
Fri 30th Aug 2019 to Sun 01st Sep 2019
Gain confidence identifying birds by sight and sound, with plenty of opportunities to put what you have learned into practice.
Led by Steve Piotrowski.
Sandwich Bay Bird Observatory by Steffan Walton Sandwich Bay Bird Observatory Sandwich
Sun 29th Sep 2019 to Thu 03rd Oct 2019
Develop your bird identification skills, with plenty of opportunities to put what you have learned into practice.
Led by Steve Piotrowski.
Breeding Bird Survey, BirdTrack, Wetland Bird Survey
Sandwich Bay Bird Observatory by Steffan Walton Sandwich Bay Bird Observatory Sandwich
Fri 10th May 2019 to Sun 12th May 2019
Discover the range of BTO surveys, and just how easy and enjoyable they are to do!
Led by Nick Moran.

1-day Workshops

Bird Identification, BirdTrack, Wetland Bird Survey
Pochard by John Proudlock Seven Lochs Wetland Park GlasgowFully Booked Sat 17th Nov 2018 Improve your wetland bird ID skills and learn how to put them to good use in the Wetland Bird Survey and BirdTrack
Led by Ben Darvill.
Bullfinch by Jill Pakenham Hams Hall Environmental Studies Centre Coleshill Thu 16th May 2019 Improve your bird identification by sight and sound and learn how you can put your skills to good use
Led by Ed Drewitt.
Bird Identification, Wetland Bird Survey
Black-tailed Godwit by Nigel Clark WWT Slimbridge Gloucester Wed 24th Apr 2019 Improve your wetland bird identification skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey
Led by Ed Drewitt.
Snipe by Liz Cutting GWT Magor Marsh Caldicot Thu 25th Apr 2019 Improve your wetland bird identification skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey
Led by Ed Drewitt.
Shoveler by M & S Johnson GWT Magor Marsh Caldicot Thu 09th May 2019 Improve your wetland bird identification skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey
Led by Ed Drewitt.
Golden Plover WWT Slimbridge Gloucester Wed 07th Aug 2019 Improve your wetland bird identification skills and discover the Wetland Bird Survey
Led by Ed Drewitt.
Bird Identification
Chaffinch by Jill Pakenham Ruardean Hill Baptist Church Ruardean Hill Tue 30th Apr 2019 Improve your woodland bird identification by sight and sound in the Forest of Dean
Led by Ed Drewitt.
Green Woodpecker by Liz Cutting RSPB Minsmere Discovery Centre Saxmundham Thu 02nd May 2019 Learn the basics of bird identification by sight and sound at this flagship RSPB reserve
Led by Steve Piotrowski.
Common Tern by Jill Pakenham RSPB Minsmere Discovery Centre Saxmundham Fri 03rd May 2019 Improve your bird identification by sight and sound at this flagship RSPB reserve
Led by Steve Piotrowski.
Breeding Bird Survey, Bird Identification
Willow Warbler by Allan Drewitt Ruardean Hill Baptist Church Ruardean Hill Tue 07th May 2019 Improve your woodland bird identification skills in the Forest of Dean and learn how you can put them to good use
Led by Ed Drewitt.