Dilys Breese Medal

For outstanding communication of BTO activities to a wide audience

2009 Stephen Moss (TV)
 Fiona Barclay (Web media)
 Tony Soper (Writing)
 Stuart Winter (National Press)
 Brett Westwood (Radio) 
 Ray Collier (Regional media)
2010 Chris Packham
Michael McCarthy
Sheena Harvey
John Ingham
Victoria Gill
Ben Hoare

The Marsh Award for Ornithology

The Marsh Awards are supported by the Marsh Christian Trust and presented by the BTO. For an ornithologist who is making a significant contribution to the field, typically someone who gained a PhD between ten and twenty years prior to the award being made

2010Dr Jennifer Gill
Dr Ian Hartley
Prof Jeremy Wilson
Dr Jane Reid
Dr Francis Daunt
Stuart Butchart

The Marsh Local Ornithology Award

For a bird club or group that publishes a book, completes a study or conducts any other exceptional activity in the preceding calendar year that advances knowledge about birds

2010Cheshire & Wirral Ornithology Society
Henfield Birdwatch
Herts Bird Club
Arran Natural History Society
Friends of Skokholm & Skomer
Malcolm Burgess &

The Marsh Award for Innovative Ornithology

Celebrates an important contribution which takes forward our understanding of avian ecology or conservation science


Dr Christian Rutz
The Spoon-billed Sandpiper Recovery Team
Mark Constantine & The Sound Approach

The Marsh Award for International Ornithology

Awarded to an individual scientist whose work on the international stage has had significant influence on British ornithology, especially as reflected in the work of BTO scientists and volunteers.

Lars Svensson
Dr Shiiwua Manu
Franz Bairlein

The Marsh Award for Young Ornithologist

Awarded to an individual (or group of people) under the age of 18 who has/have made a significant contribution to BTO bird monitoring schemes and shared this information with their peers.

2015Findlay Wilde

Founder’s Medal

1991Dr E M Nicholson

Bernard Tucker Medal

For outstanding service to the Trust

1954Miss E P Leach & P A D Hollom
1955W B Alexander & R C Homes
1956Dr J A Gibb and G W Temperley
1957R A O Hickling & Sir Landsborough Thomson CB OBE DSc
1958J A G Barnes & Dr E M Nicholson
1959A W Boyd & C A Norris
1960Dr B Campbell OBE & Dr S Smith
1961Major R F Ruttledge & H N Southern
1962No medal awarded
1963Mrs E Barnes & S Cramp
1964Dr D A Ratcliffe
1965R K Cornwallis
1966J Fisher & G M Tait
1967Dr J S Ash
1968Mrs S Cowdy
1969No medal awarded
1970A F G Walker
1971S M Taylor
1972No medal awarded
1973F C Gribble
1974Mr & Mrs J A Hardman
1975Dr C D T Minton
1976I J Ferguson-Lees
1977No medal awarded
1978G C Lambourne
1979H P Sitters
1980Mr & Mrs A D Wilson
1981No medal awarded
1982P G Davis
1983R A O Hickling
1984No medal awarded
1985Major G F A Munns
1986M Boddy
1987No medal awarded
1988No medal awarded
1989G H Gush
1990J M McMeeking MBE
1991M Shrubb
1992P Catchpole & C du Feu
1993R Swann
1994M Adcock & G Horne
1995B Little
1996J C Callion
1997C J Mead
1998Dr M P Harris
1999Dr A G Gosler & D G Coker
2000Dr R Green
2001M G Cubitt
2002Professor D Norman
2003A C Blackburn, D E Glue & Dr C P F Redfern
2004Dr M V Hounsome & D Warden
2005S G Dodd
2006O J Merne
2007John Brooke, R C Cooke & Peter Potts
2008S J R Rumsey & R Duncan
2009R Hoblyn
2010Dr H Insley
M Nicoll
M Marquiss
Dr A Brenchley
Dr R W Summers
D M Francis
Mr J V Lloyd

Jubilee Medal

For committed devotion to the Trust

1983Miss D V Breese
1984R Gillmor
1985Mrs M Waller
1986Mrs S Cowdy
1987Mr & Mrs T Poyser
1988Dr M P Taylor
1989Dr A B Watson
1990No medal awarded
1991Dr B Campbell OBE & C A Norris 
1992G H Green & J A Hancock, OBE
1993P L Ireland & R Spencer
1994No medal awarded
1995Mr & Mrs J A Hardman
1996Dr J K Partridge
1997I C Castle & D F Musson
1998S J Sutcliffe
1999J V R Woodland
2000No medal awarded
2001T D Holden
2002H Robb
2003J D Okill
2004No medal awarded
2005P J Hearn & J Tully
2006T A Cadwallender & Dr K W Perry
2007   Brian Henson
2008Dr RG Gibbs and RJ Howells
2009N Elkins
2010Dr CJR Thorne
J K Bonell
Ms E Tigwell
Mr R L Bland
D Mullings
Ms P E Knowles